Skip Navigation Links > Home > Durlston Today > Daily Diary

Daily Diary

20
January
Sunday 20th January, 2019
A fantastic sunrise this morning, with a sky streaked with pink and gold, mirrored in a calm sea, fading to a steely b... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
19
January
Saturday 19 January, 2019
Drip-drip, drum and pitter-patter Water falls in tiny spheres Birds all cease their flights and chatter They hid... Read More
by Douglas Hart
18
January
Friday 18 January, 2019
A Peregrine soars on icy air While Blackbirds creep and chatter Lichen grows like grey-green hair And groups of ... Read More
by Douglas Hart
17
January
Thursday 17th January 2019
A glorious morning to enjoy a patrol across the Park, the first sound was that of a Green Woodpecker chuckling as it t... Read More
by Katie Black
16
January
Wednesday 16 January, 2019
A wild and windy morning, so a stroll through the sheltered woodland of the Pleasure Grounds to start the day. Bri... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
15
January
Tueaday 15 January, 2019
Whilst one Carrion Crow, perched above the non-working anemometer (wind meter) on the Learning Centre roof, its partne... Read More
by P.Jones
14
January
Monday 14 January, 2019
Beneath your notice, barely glanced By other species, more advanced Atop a face of bare limestone The humble lic... Read More
by Douglas Hart
13
January
Sunday 13 January, 2019
From the observation point four Fulmars were engaged in their pirouetting cliff side flight. A fifth bird was coaxed f... Read More
by P.Jones
12
January
Saturday 12th January, 2019
A stunning sunrise this morning, with streaks of pink, blue and deep red stretched across the brightening sky, with cu... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
11
January
Friday 11 January, 2019
I could not resist visiting the wildlife pond which, although ice free, had no activity within. Thus, the Smooth Newts... Read More
by P.Jones
10
January
Thursday 10 January, 2019
We speak of cold as if it were a nasty creeping thing With icy hands and cruel demands, an evil frozen king Cold i... Read More
by Douglas Hart
09
January
Wednesday 09 January, 2019
A brilliant bright sunrise this morning, rising on a clear horizon to the south east, with just a few clouds in the sk... Read More
by Ben Tolley
08
January
Tuesday 8th Janaury 2019
A glorious sunrise, with the orange glow covering the whole park. Skimming low across the water was a scattering of Gu... Read More
by Katie Black
07
January
Monday 07 January, 2019
Lighthouse beacons burning bright Pierce the morn with beams of light A sign, a warning, perhaps a hail To all w... Read More
by Douglas Hart
06
January
Sunday 06 January, 2019
It was not a morning of good light conditions, but it was a still morning good for sounds. My greatest surprise was th... Read More
by P.Jones
05
January
Saturday 05 January, 2019
It was dark and chilly when I set out for this mornings walk a day to be wrapped up warm for sure! A light dusting of... Read More
by Ben Tolley
04
January
Friday 04 January, 2019
I was able to get rather close to the Blue Tits which were exploring the Elm and Bramble beside the road islands. Part... Read More
by P.Jones
03
January
Thursday 3rd January 2019
A very grey morning greeted me, but the visibility easily good enough to view the Isle of Wight with clarity. As I g... Read More
by Katie Black
02
January
Wednesday 2nd January 2019
A chilly start to my morning, with patches of blue sky dotted between the foreboding grey clouds. The sound of a Gre... Read More
by Katie Black
01
January
Tuesday 01 January, 2019
Daystar burning bright above What future do you herald? Rise or ruin? Pain or love? Favoured or imperilled? N... Read More
by Douglas Hart
31
December
Monday 31st December, 2018
It was a rather calm and still start to the day. The cloud cover was such that all the Isle of Wight could be seen. St... Read More
by P.Jones
30
December
Sunday 30th December 2018
A perfectly still morning greeted me today, not a breath of wind, the trees still and the sea silent, only the sound o... Read More
by Katie Black
29
December
Saturday 29 December, 2018
Where shall we three meet again? Methinks a desolate place A moor, a heath, a clifftop plain Where man leaves no... Read More
by Douglas Hart
28
December
Friday 28th December 2018
A glorious sunrise greeted my patrol around Durlston Country Park, as I enjoyed the early morning the sun crept up war... Read More
by Katie Black
27
December
Thursday 27 December, 2018
From the depths of reservoir copse, a Green Woodpeckers call rang out. Later I was to see one such bird in undulating ... Read More
by P.Jones
24
December
Monday 24th December 2018
My last patrol before Christmas was accompanied by thick grey clouds and drizzle, but this was lightened by the wildli... Read More
by Katie Black
23
December
Sunday 23rd December, 2018
A wild and windy start to the morning, with the park veiled in a thick shroud of mist, softening the edges of the dark... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
22
December
Saturday 22 December, 2018
The tree lies fallen on the ground, it lived and now its dead But the light that shines From these declines Will... Read More
by Douglas Hart