Skip Navigation Links > Home > Durlston Today

Daily Diary

16
June
Sunday 16th June 2019
Drizzle and greyness greeted me as I took a patrol around Durlston National Nature Reserve. The high screeching call... Read More
by Katie Black
15
June
Saturday 15th June 2019
Another fresh windy morning with the sea once again covered in lots of white crests, and bobbing on these were Guillem... Read More
by Katie Black
14
June
Friday 14th June
The cliffs were calling this morning, the sound of Guillemots gargling could just be heard above the breaking of the w... Read More
by Katie Black
13
June
Thursday 13 June, 2019
Thanks to the rain the vegetation looked green, fresh and healthy.Upon arrival a Jay flashed past into tree cover. It ... Read More
by P.Jones
12
June
Wednesday 12 June, 2019
Branched Oyster Fungus Fried up with Witches Butter On Lacquered Bracket Great Tits and Tree Sparrows were in v... Read More
by Douglas Hart
11
June
Tuesday 11th June, 2019
A rather grey start to the day, with a wonderful landscape of clouds overhead, from streaks of high cirrus, alongside ... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
10
June
Monday 10 June, 2019
It was a rather calm, cool and quiet start to the day. I found more of the fungal gall Doug discovered upon Blackthorn... Read More
by P.Jones
09
June
Sunday 09 June, 2019
Were going on a fungi hunt After the passing weather front Chitinous forms are bared Im not scared! Oh no, a ... Read More
by Douglas Hart
08
June
Saturday 8th June, 2019
A blustery start to the day, with white horses galloping across the sea and a strong north-easterly breeze hissing thr... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
07
June
Friday 07 June, 2019
The forest floor is littered with dead stems Three Cornered Leek and Ransoms breathe their last What spring brough... Read More
by Douglas Hart
06
June
Thursday 6th June, 2019
A glorious summer morning, with white clouds racing across a deep blue sky and the wind dancing through the grasses in... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
05
June
Wednesday 5th June 2019
The cliff tops were calling this morning, the sun flickering on the gently lapping waves, as the sound of growling and... Read More
by Katie Black
04
June
Tuesday 04 June, 2019
Having chosen a walking commute, I was fortunate to only experience spits of rain. Along the coastal ridge there were ... Read More
by P.Jones
03
June
Monday 3rd June 2019
A sunny morning with the gentle wind wafting through the grasses, in one of the meadows there were two chestnut colour... Read More
by Katie Black
02
June
Sunday 2nd June, 2019
After a week away from work, so exciting to see the changes wrought by the summer in just a few days. The meadows ar... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
01
June
Saturday 01 June, 2019
Yesterday morning one Wood Mouse was caught from some ten mammal traps set. It was shown to the Nature Nursey before b... Read More
by Paul Jones
31
May
Friday 31st May 2019
Delightful pink petals Tempt butterflies, bees, and beetles Drawn through the salty sea air It appears that the... Read More
by Ben Tolley
30
May
Thursday 30 May, 2019
The life that fills this verdant land is rich beyond compare Impossible abundance fills the earth and sea and air ... Read More
by Douglas Hart
29
May
Wednesday 29th May 2019
The moth trap was out last night but only produced 15 species, it was perhaps a bit chilly and breezy. The highlights ... Read More
by Katie Black
28
May
Tuesday 28th May 2019
Different again today with a chilly northwest wind and only faint sunshine, however a superb view of a male Roe Deer a... Read More
by Katie Black
27
May
Monday 27 May, 2019
Friday afternoon I was lucky enough to observe a Woodmouse meandering through the nettles beneath the canopy of the La... Read More
by P.Jones
26
May
Sunday 26th May 2019
A chilly wind (for recently) greeted my arrival in the great outdoors, causing the meadow plants to shimmer, especiall... Read More
by Katie Black
25
May
Saturday 25 May, 2019
Last nights Seabird Boat trip brought enabled views of some nine Puffins, along with Swifts and Kittiwakes beyond Durl... Read More
by P.Jones
24
May
Friday 24th May 2019
Despite the grey skies, the delicate Pale Flax flowers were all turned towards the sunlight, all of the flowers slight... Read More
by Katie Black
23
May
Thursday 23rd May, 2019
A fantastic spring morning, with blue skies traced with wisps of high cloud, and a gentle breeze whispering through th... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
22
May
Wednesday 22nd May 2019
The white flowers of May covering the Hawthorn bushes around the Park, a glorious sight to enjoy, on close inspection ... Read More
by Katie Black
21
May
Tuesday 21 May, 2019
The whole worlds turning yellow, or so it lately seems Its putting on a lavish show, above even the greens Birds F... Read More
by Douglas Hart
20
May
Monday 20 May, 2019
A male House Sparrow took a brief pause upon the wildlife garden fence before returning to foraging for the family! A ... Read More
by P.Jones
19
May
Sunday 19th May 2019
Off to the meadows this morning for a change, and they are looking glorious a swathe of delicate pale blue from the Pa... Read More
by Katie Black
18
May
Saturday 18th May 2019
As I started off my walk the strange sound of a Parakeet squawked loudly from above me, this large bird easily spotted... Read More
by Katie Black