Skip Navigation Links > Home > Durlston Today > Daily Diary

Daily Diary

10
December
Sunday 10 December, 2017
The Sleeping giant wakes today Or perchance it merely stirs. The trees of Durlston creek and sway In the storm t... Read More
by Douglas Hart
09
December
Saturday 9th December 2017
Crispy and crunchy was the ground this morning, the puddles covered with layer of ice, which split as I stepped onto i... Read More
by Katie Black
08
December
Friday 08 December, 2017
A Green Woodpecker flew with its undulating flight away from the Centre as I arrived upon this cold but frost free mor... Read More
by P.Jones
07
December
Thursday 7th December, 2017
A spectacularly wild, wet and windy morning, with south-westerly winds blasting rain across the park and whipping stee... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
06
December
Wednesday 06 December, 2017
The wise bird knows to play it coy and stay in sheltered sites The showy bird Is more likely to be heard And end... Read More
by Douglas Hart
05
December
Tuesday 05 December, 2017
The air above us, so it seems, contains a daily surprise I hope this never ends And I say to you my friends May ... Read More
by Douglas Hart
04
December
Monday 04 December, 2017
Through the wildlife area fence I saw a beautifully laid hedge that had the work of Champion hedge layer and volunteer... Read More
by P.Jones
03
December
Sunday 03 December, 2017
The majesty of Durlston is the work of many hands Two have stayed a spell And we bid them farewell As they leave... Read More
by Douglas Hart
02
December
Saturday 2nd December 2017
What a stunning sunrise, shafts of red glowing through the gap between the horizon and the thick cloud layer, the fore... Read More
by Katie Black
01
December
Friday 1st December 2017
A glorious sunny morning for the patrol, the deep red sky changing to gold as I wandered around the Park. Underfoot th... Read More
by Katie Black
30
November
Thurday 30 November, 2017
A Woodpigeon soothingly called whilst Jackdaws flew up noisily from the reservoir copse when I arrived. This morning w... Read More
by P.Jones
29
November
Wednesday 29 November, 2017
A flat calm ocean reminds me of the fabled sleeping giant Gentle at rest But all attest When woken its defiant ... Read More
by Douglas Hart
28
November
Tuesday 28 November, 2017
As I meandered through the scrub I looked upon the range of Lichen growing upon the Hawthorn and Blackthorn. Only yest... Read More
by Paul Jones
27
November
Monday 27th November 2017
A wonderful early windy morning out on the Park, the westerly wind constantly blowing at over 30mph. From amongst th... Read More
by Katie Black
26
November
Sunday 26 November, 2017
A single Durlston pathway is bursting with life With chattering Blackbirds, Robins and Magpies Grey Squirrels and ... Read More
by Douglas Hart
25
November
Saturday 25th November, 2017
A beautiful winter morning, with a still, immaculate blue dome of sky overhead, while below, frost sparkles in the sun... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
24
November
Friday 24 November, 2017
A calmness falls upon the world, the winds have passed us by Nature will always yearn For balance to return To o... Read More
by Douglas Hart
23
November
Thursday 23 November 2017
The early dull cloud cover lifting as I took my patrol to reveal the deep blue sky, spotted by fluffy grey clouds. Aga... Read More
by Katie Black
22
November
Wednesday 22 November, 2017
Today I would have lost my hat again High winds bombard the park without recess Only Corvids and Gulls aloft remai... Read More
by Douglas Hart
21
November
Tuesday 21st November 2017
As the morning began a shaft of glorious red and pink light glowed below the clouds bathing Durlston in a wonderful li... Read More
by Katie Black
20
November
Monday 20 November, 2017
Winters steady march continues, each day shorter than the last The tide of life is ebbing low, the suns strength fad... Read More
by Douglas Hart
19
November
Sunnday 19 November, 2017
It was with great relief that I found the Herford Cattle had not breached the electric fence line in the gully. Althou... Read More
by P.jones
18
November
Saturday 18 November, 2017
A still, dry start to the day, with a variety of birds on the wing as they forage for food among the autumn hedgerows ... Read More
by A.Tuckey
17
November
Friday 17 November, 2017
Twenty five Goldfinches were heard flying overhead, however, I later managed to see an individual calling from the cen... Read More
by P.Jones
16
November
Thursday 16th Nov 2017
A surprisingly warm day for mid-November for my early patrol with the temperature at almost 12C and no wind. So off to... Read More
by Katie Black
15
November
Wednesday 15 November, 2017
This morning I was accompanied our volunteer Karianne from the Netherlands. Around the car park margins we had the rel... Read More
by P.Jones & K.Ford
14
November
Tuesday 14 November, 2017
When the grass is gone, the cows move on, its what their instincts say Whether West or East matters not in the least... Read More
by Douglas Hart
13
November
Monday 13th November, 2017
A real treat to be out and about early this morning, with brilliant sunshine sparkling on patches of frost in hollows ... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
12
November
Sunday 12 November, 2017
It was glorious in the warmth of the rising sun, however, I missed a scarf and gloves when in the mornings chill wind.... Read More
by P.Jones