Skip Navigation Links > Home > Durlston Today

Daily Diary

18
February
Sunday 18th February, 2018
A still, but rather foggy and damp start to the day, with Round Down shrouded in mist and a steely sea fading into a g... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
17
February
Saturday 17 February, 2018
The rays of life fall on the land and stir it from its slumber A wave of colour ripples fourth, rising from the umbe... Read More
by Douglas Hart
16
February
Friday 16 February, 2018
Happy faces all around, my colleagues smile with me A day like this brings joy to all, simple, pure and free Natur... Read More
by Douglas Hart
15
February
Thursday 15 February, 2018
You thought us vanquished with the winter but people, you thought wrong Look closer as you walk the woods and see we... Read More
by Douglas Hart
14
February
Wednesday 14 February, 2018
A musical start to my walk today With a Song Thrush singing by St Marys Church Then uphill on to the woodland way ... Read More
by Douglas Hart
13
February
Tuesday 13 February, 2018
The cold sharp rain hit my face as soon as I got out my car this morning, in the distance the roar of the wind echoed ... Read More
by C.Carter
12
February
Monday 12 February, 2018
Beside the Centre plenty of bird sound came from the bare Sycamores including Chaffinches, Blue Tit and Great Tit. The... Read More
by P.Jones & C.Carter
11
February
Sunday 11 February, 2018
A much improved morning after yesterday! From the observation point I saw two Fulmar circuit off the sea cliffs. A t... Read More
by P.Jones
10
February
Saturday 10th February, 2018
A chilly, grey start to the day with a gusty south-westerly wind whipping through the trees and scrub and sending whit... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
09
February
08
February
Thursday 08 February, 2018
Skies full of birds, fields full of beasts, the park is so alive A land of natural wonders, a place where they can t... Read More
by Douglas Hart
07
February
Wednesday 7th February 2018
Another quite magnificent morning to be out on the National Nature Reserve. The frozen ground crunchy underfoot and th... Read More
by Katie Black
06
February
Tuesday 6th February 2018
What a gorgeous day, bright sunshine and blue sky, but what really makes the difference is my ability to walk across t... Read More
by Katie Black
05
February
Monday 05 February, 2018
Outside the centre, a brief deep whistle was made as the wind passed through the eye of a bollard. A light frost glaze... Read More
by P.Jones
04
February
Sunday 04 February, 2018
Okay. So starting my patrol from the former landfill site meant I was walking into the sun. A glorious dazzling sun at... Read More
by P.Jones
03
February
Saturday 3rd February 2018
As I started off my early patrol in the dullness of 7.30am the sounds of Blackbirds were the most numerous. The fluty ... Read More
by Katie Black
02
February
Friday 02 February, 02018
It was a gorgeous sun rise again, however, it was soon tucked away behind the clouds. Frost was upon the ground in a f... Read More
by P.Jones
01
February
Thursday 1st February 2018
After a string of damp, grey days, the park is bathed in bright sunshine this morning, sparkling on puddles and wet le... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
31
January
Wednesday 31 January, 2018
At Januarys end a cold and quiet morning still revealed some wildlife! It was a Song Thrush that gradually built up ... Read More
by P.Jones
30
January
Tuesday 30 January, 2018
The storms are settled, their anger spent, at last theyve left this place And now more gentle weather holds the park... Read More
by Douglas Hart
29
January
Monday 29th January 2018
A very grey morning for the patrol with a gentle westerly wind not doing much to dry the ground, which underfoot, espe... Read More
by Katie Black
28
January
Sunday 28 January 2018
The morning sun breaks on the downs, as it has and ever will The light of day spreads fourth again on field and stac... Read More
by Catherine Carter
27
January
Saturday 27 January, 2018
My highlight this morning was getting my first ever response from my greeting from a familiar face I have regularly se... Read More
by P.Jones
26
January
Friday 26th January 2018
A glorious early morning with the sun piercing between the horizon and the low cloud, a bright golden hue highlighting... Read More
by Katie Black
25
January
Thursday 25 January, 2018
We emerged from yesterdays wet and soggy weather and I start the morning walk with Paul. Crocus and Primrose had start... Read More
by Catherine Carter
24
January
Wednesday 24 January, 2018
On clifftops and downlands I feel quite at home Though I wander in solus, Im never alone Im escorted by birds and ... Read More
by Douglas Hart
23
January
Tuesday 23rd January, 2018
As I made my way up the hill this morning, once again, I found myself ascending into an increasingly foggy landscape, ... Read More
by Ali Tuckey
22
January
Monday 22nd Janaury 2018
What a morning dark and wet as I began my early patrol of Durlston, so off to the woods. Here the sound of a Goldcres... Read More
by Katie Black
21
January
Sunday 21st January, 2018
A real nose in front of your face morning, with the Park covered in a thick blanket of fog for the early rounds, with ... Read More
by Ali Tuckey